Wednesday, November 19, 2008

The six colours of Buddhas aura

Many wats in Cambodia fly the Internationally recognised Buddhist flag. Designed to celebrate the renaissance of Buddhism in Ceylon in 1880, internationally accepted in 1952, it is made up of the six colours of Buddha’s post enlightenment aura.

Blue (Nila) symbolising universal compassion.

Yellow (Peeta) representing the middle path.

Red (Lohitha) signifying the five blessings of the practice of Buddhism which are achievement, wisdom, virtue, fortune and dignity.

White (Odata) for purity which leads to the liberation of time and space

and Orange (Manjesta) for the wisdom of the Buddha’s teaching.

The last stripe is a blend of all the colours which for the simplicity of the designs sake is represented in a multicoloured stripe. In a similar way to the way light is made up of all the colours of the rainbow the ‘Pabbhassara’ is effectively the ‘essence of light’.

As in the photo, taken at the end of ‘Victory Avenue’ between the Khleangs in Angkor Thom during our last visit, the orange colour is sometimes more a bronze or even a pastel pinky brown colour.

In Burma the Orange is replaced with green.

No comments: